---
title: "How To Guide: Managing Roles & Permissions"
url: "https://help.psarev.io/en/article/how-to-guide-creating-a-role"
language: "en"
last_updated: "2025-10-31T19:11:36.287Z"
---

# How To Guide: Managing Roles & Permissions

1. Introduction

![1](https://export.supademo.com/renders/s4e8ujh6yd/out.png)

2. From the **Admin** main menu, select **Roles & Permissions**.

![2](https://export.supademo.com/renders/dc8pi9ash7/out.png)

3. You'll see a list of all existing roles. Clicking the **ellipsis** icon on the right of a role will allow you to **Edit**, **View** or **Delete** the role.

![3](https://export.supademo.com/renders/sltxrankaj/out.png)

4. Clicking **Edit** on the role will allow you to change any permission settings you need.

You can type in the **Search** field to find the permission you need.

![4](https://export.supademo.com/renders/m4jsj1glhr/out.png)

5. Any **sections** that include the term you searched for will display.

Click the **down arrow** on the right of each section to view the individual permissions there. Then choose to **check** or **un-check** the specific permissions that you need to add or remove.

![5](https://export.supademo.com/renders/7unl7pwkfw/out.png)

6. Make sure to click the **Save** button if you make any changes to a role.

![6](https://export.supademo.com/renders/91khonpjl1/out.png)

7. To create a new role, click the **Add Role** button.

![7](https://export.supademo.com/renders/3gto0xq5qa/out.png)

8. **Name** the new role and give it a **description**.

![8](https://export.supademo.com/renders/5633npuxrf/out.png)

9. All the permission sections will display. You can either search as before to find permissions, or typically when creating a brand new permission it is best to simply **click the down arrow on each section** and decide if the role needs the permissions in each section.

![9](https://export.supademo.com/renders/gdlr8xux61/out.png)

10. For each section, you can decide the level of accessibility.

If the role should have **View Only** permission, checking the **View** option will allow viewing and it turns off the ability to select any of the higher permissions like Create, Delete, or Edit.

**Unchecking all options** in a section would mean that role has no access to those items at all.

![10](https://export.supademo.com/renders/83xz9dl0hu/out.png)

11. You can also allow **Create**, **Delete**, and/or **Edit** permission.

You'll see that if you check any of these options, the "View" option becomes unavailable as you have selected a higher level of permission than View Only. By default, view permission is included in Create, Delete, and/or Edit permissions.

![11](https://export.supademo.com/renders/rbt0oofr3a/out.png)

12. Make sure to click **Save** when you've added all the permissions for the role.

![12](https://export.supademo.com/renders/mlfivx2wcp/out.png)
